2011 Writers of the Future Awards Event

Twenty-four writers and artists from around the globe were honored Sunday night at the 27th Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards at the famed Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, in the very room the first Academy Awards was held.

The annual event celebrated the winners in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests (http://www.writersofthefuture.com) before a packed hall and thousands more who were logged on to watch the event as it streamed live. The night's keynote speaker was Dr. Pete Worden, Director of the NASA Ames Research Center, who spoke of the relationship between science fiction as the inspiration that leads to science fact. He closed by saying, "I said at the beginning that science fiction writing has helped inspire NASA. I also like to think that what we do at NASA has helped inspire you—that our new discoveries provide the tools to open your imagination."

Each writing and illustrating contest winner was presented their trophy by contest judges at the ceremony and combined cash prizes and royalties of over $30,000. The Gold Award to the author of the Story of the Year was presented by Dr. Worden and K.D. Wentworth, Editor for Writers of the Future, to Richard Johnson of Melbourne, Australia, for his story "In Apprehension, How Like a God." The Gold Award for the Illustrator of the Year was presented to Irvin Rodriguez, of Bronx, New York, by Keir Graff, senior editor for Booklist Magazine of the American Library Association, and Ron Lindahn, a multiple award winning artist and Illustrator of the Future Contest coordinating judge.

Prior to the awards ceremony, the winners were flown in from as far away as Australia and South Africa to attend a week long workshop taught by contest judges —including New York Times bestselling author Kevin J. Anderson (Dune series), World Fantasy Award winner Tim Powers ("On Stranger Tides," adapted as the 4th Pirates of the Caribbean film), multiple Hugo and Nebula award winner Robert J. Sawyer (The WWW Trilogy), Hugo and Nebula award winning author Larry Niven (the Ringworld series), and internationally acclaimed artists, Dave Dorman (Star Wars and Batman artist), Stephen Hickman (over 350 book and magazine covers), Robert Castillo (S.P.I.C. The Storyboard of my Life), and Cliff Nielsen (cover artist for Chronicles of Narnia), the cover artist for this year's anthology—each one an experienced professional in the field providing sound advice based on hard-won experience.

The Writers of the Future writing contest (http://www.writersofthefuture.com) was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988. This year marks the Centennial anniversary (1911-2011) for Mr. Hubbard who was hailed by Publishers Weekly as "one of the greatest literary figures of the 20th century."

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful. Past winners of the Writing Contest have published over 700 novels, 3,000 short stories and winners of the Illustrating Contest have had their art published in more than 500 books and magazines, with 4,500 illustrations, 350 comics and over 1.3 million art prints.


I love to hear from you. So feel free to comment, but keep in mind the basics of blog etiquette — no spam, no profanity, no slander, etc.

Thanks for being an active part of the Writers and Authors community.