APEX Awards 2009

Announcing the Winners

Questions and Answers About APEX 2009
The Twenty-first Annual Awards for Publication Excellence Competition

Sponsored by the Editors of Writing That Works:
The Business Communications Report

How were awards presented?
APEX 2009 awards were based on excellence in graphic design, editorial content and the success of the entry -- in the opinion of the judges -- in achieving overall communications effectiveness and excellence.

Naturally, entries in design categories were judged solely on the basis of their graphic design, and writing entries were evaluated primarily on the basis of editorial quality.

How many entries were there? How many awards were given?
3,785 entries were evaluated, in the following distribution:
Newsletters: 385; Magazines & Journals: 706; Magapapers & Newspapers: 82; Annual Reports: 183;
Brochures, Manuals & Reports: 378; Video & Electronic Publications: 193; Web & Intranet Sites:
267; Campaigns, Programs & Plans: 301; Writing: 659; Design & Illustration: 392; Special
Publications: 239.

A total of 100 APEX Grand Awards were presented in 11 major categories to honor the outstanding works in those categories. 1,158 APEX Awards of Excellence recognize excellence in 122 individual categories.

For the number of awards presented in each individual category, please see Announcing the Winners of APEX 2009 (pdf).

Is there a list of winning entries?
Yes. See Announcing the Winners of APEX 2009 (pdf).
Grand Award winners are listed by main category.
Award of Excellence winners are listed within each subcategory, alphabetically by organization, or by last name for individual entrants.)

Can I see some of the winning entries online?
Yes. You may view a selected number of the winning Web site entries online. You'll find brief descriptions and links to those selected winning sites. You may also read comments about -- and link to Web sites of -- most of the 100 APEX 2009 Grand Award Winners, as well as the APEX 2008 Grand Award Winners, and earlier winners back through 2001.

For more details visit http://www.apexawards.com/announcingthewinners_2009.htm


I love to hear from you. So feel free to comment, but keep in mind the basics of blog etiquette — no spam, no profanity, no slander, etc.

Thanks for being an active part of the Writers and Authors community.