2009 Royal Society Prize for Science Books

I thought I’d just let everyone know, for those that weren’t aware, that entries for the 2009 Royal Society Prize for Science Books are being accepted until 2 April 2009.

Entries have to be made by publishers, so if you’re an author of a popular science book that was first published in 2008, you might want to check with your publisher that it will be entered for our Prize.

The 2009 Royal Society Prize for Science Books will celebrate the best of 2008's new popular science writing for a general adult readership. The Prize is open to science books written for a non-specialist audience. The winner will receive £10,000 and the authors of the short listed books £1000.

Books submitted for the prize must have been published for the first time in English (in any country) during 2008 and be available to buy in the UK. Full details of the prizes' regulations and eligibility criteria and the entry form are available on the Society's website.

An online entry form must be completed for each entry, and seven non-returnable copies of each entry submitted to the Royal Society by Thursday 2 April 2009.

In 2008 Six degrees: Our future on a hotter planet by Mark Lynas (Fourth Estate) was the overall winner. Other previous winners of Royal Society Books Prizes include Robert Winston, Daniel Gilbert, Matt Ridley, Bill Bryson, Frances Dipper, Stephen Hawking, Jared Diamond, Kate Petty and Fran Balkwill.

After being awarded the 2008 Royal Society Prize for Science books, Mark Lynas' Six degrees: Our future on a hotter planet enjoyed widespread media attention and saw sale figures more than double throughout the months following the award.


I love to hear from you. So feel free to comment, but keep in mind the basics of blog etiquette — no spam, no profanity, no slander, etc.

Thanks for being an active part of the Writers and Authors community.